Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Executive Board

LMSA Executive Director:

 Executive Director 


John P. Sanchez, M.D.

Associate Dean, Diversity and Inclusion

Associate Professor, Emergency Medicine

Rutgers New Jersey Medical School

President, Building the Next Generation of Academic Physicians Inc.


The first LMSA Mentor of the year award was given to Dr. Philip de Chavez. Dr. de Chavez was our Executive Director for many years until his passing. He was a great mentor for the organization and the force that helped the national-core from year to year. The Mentor of the Year award is named in his honor. It was a privilege to have worked with him. We all miss him very much and will strive to make the organization better to serve others.


Advisory Council:

Monica Vela MD

JP Sanchez MD

Ruben Font, Jr MD

Elizabeth Homan-Sandoval MD

Daniel Turner-Lloveras MD 

Victor Cueto MD

Emma Olivera MD

Orlando Sola MD

Alvaro Galvis MD PhD






National Officers



Julia Su
Donald and Barbara Zucker School of Medicine

Vice Chair of External Affairs

Victor Rodriguez
Texas A&M University College of Medicine
Vice Chair of Internal Affairs

Nicole McManus
Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine—Georgia Campus
Chief Information Officer (CIO)

Eduardo Hernandez 
University of Texas Southwestern Medical School

Chief Financial Officer (CFO)

Josh Ramos Geisel 
School of Medicine at Dartmouth

Chief Development Officer (CDO)

Christian Aquino
UT Health San Antonio - Long School of Medicine

 Deputy Chief Development Officer (CDO)

Munir Buhaya
McGovern Medical School

Vice President of Fundraising


 Vice President of Mentorship


Ciara Espinoza
Texas Tech Health Sciences Center School of Medicine

Yoseph Aldras
Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine

 Vice President of Policy

Yaritzy Astudillo
New York Medical College

 Vice President of Public Relations

Christian Suri
Rutgers New Jersey Medical School

National Conference Chairs


Publication Chair


Cristina Valentnin 
Rivera University of Connecticut School of Medicine

Patricia Rivera
Albert Einstein College of Medicine

Scholarship Chair

Johnathan Cruz
University of California, San Diego School of Medicine

Service Chair

Fabiola Valenzuela
UTRGV School of Medicine

Immediate Past President

Eric Molina
Baylor College of Medicine


Cesar Montelongo Hernandez
Loyola Stritch School of Medicine


National Conference Coordinator



National Board Members:


Midwest Co-Directors

Donald Rodriguez
University of Chicago Pritzker School of Medicine



Gracia Vargas
University of Michigan
Medical School

Northeast Co-Directors

Jessica Grenvik
Sidney Kimmel Medical College

Mary-Catherine Skoulos
Cooper Medical School of Rowan University

Southeast Co-Directors

Victoria Fernandez 
University of Miami Miller School of Medicine

Roxana Navarro

University of Miami Miller School of Medicine

Southwest Co-Directors

Isabel López-García
UT Southwestern Medical Center 

Christian Aquino
UT Health San Antonio - Long School of Medicine

West Co-Directors

Nancy Rodriguez
UC Davis School of Medicine

Marcela Zhou
David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA



NHMA Liaisons:


Jeffrey Uribe, MD
Lincoln Medical and Mental Health Center
NHMA Council of Young Physicians

NHMA Council of Residents


Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal